Eight Singapore Organisations and Schools Win Recognition At Asia Pacific ICT Awards

Singapore, 23 November 2015 – Eight Singapore teams received merit awards in six categories in Colombo, Sri Lanka last week at the 2015 regional Asia Pacific ICT Alliance (APICTA) awards between 18 Nov and 22 Nov.  

Singapore was recognised in the Government and Public Sector category for the Integrated Criminal Case Filing and Management System (ICMS), which transformed paper-based processes into an efficient electronic workflow. KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital (KKH) was selected in the Health and Well Being category for “Overcoming The Odds”, a round-the-clock integrated pharmacy automation system used at KKH Emergency Pharmacy. 

Other Singapore companies which received merit awards include Concorde Security in the Security category for “I-Man Facility Sprinter”, a specially built vehicle customised for security and building monitoring systems; and Neeuro in the Start-Up category for “Memorie”, a brain training solution equipped with wearable Electroencephalogram (EEG) headgear and mobile app. 

Temasek Polytechnic’s Mozter Automated Mosquito Detection System, took honours in the Tertiary Student Project segment for devising a system to  automatically detect mosquitoes which can spread diseases. In the School Project category, Raffles Institution, Dunman High School and NUS High School of Math and Science accolades received merit awards for their solutions. Raffles Institution’ was successful with ”Journy”, a mobile application that enables users to record their photo journeys.   Equally successful was Dunman High School’s “iKit – For Your Eyes Only” an eye-test and training kit s to test for eye deficiencies; and NUS High School of Math & Science’s “Commongoods”, an online sharing platform aimed at fostering a community or ‘kampung’ spirit in Singapore.

The Singapore infocomm Technology Federation (SiTF) led a team of 10 Singapore organisations and schools to compete at this year’s regional awards. Singapore had 11 nominations in seven categories — Application Tools and Platforms, Government and Public Sector, Health and Well Being, Security, Start-Up, Tertiary Student and School Project. 

Many of the Singapore nominees were selected from participants in SiTF Awards 2015 which aimed to recognise made-in-Singapore innovative ICT Applications/Solutions.

Singapore’s contestants competed against 192 entries from 13 Asia-Pacific countries. More than 70 judges evaluated the entries in 17 categories. 

“Each year APICTA recognises the best in innovation from across the Asia Pacific. We are proud to again be able to bring a strong contingent from Singapore in 2015. The participants were able to showcase their products and technology to an international audience and at the same time network and learn from their peers,” said Ms Shirley Wong, SiTF’s chairman. 

“APICTA recognises the creativity and efforts of governments, companies and entrepreneurs, and is an important platform that both bridges the digital divide and helps to foster the growth and development of the Asia Pacific ICT industry”, she added. 

- Ends -

About The APICTA Awards

The Asia Pacific ICT Alliance Awards (APICTA Awards) is an annual  international awards program organised by APICTA. It aims to increase ICT awareness in the community and assist in bridging the digital divide. By providing networking and product benchmarking opportunities to ICT innovators and entrepreneurs in the region, the program is designed to stimulate ICT innovation and creativity, promote economic and trade relations, facilitate technology transfer, and offer business matching opportunities via exposure to venture capitalists and investors.
Participants of the awards program comprise members of the Asia Pacific ICT Alliance APICTA. They are guided by the Framework of Cooperation identifying how member-economies can work together in support of the Awards Program as well as other programs that foster development and growth of the ICT industry in the region. APICTA Members include Australia, China, Bangladesh, Brunei, Taiwan, Indonesia, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Hong Kong and Nepal.